Structure And Functions of Council



Establishment of the Council (SURCON)

There is hereby establishment of a body known a Surveyors Council of Nigeria (otherwise referred to by the decree as “the Council”) by the Federal Military Government on 15th December, 1989.

The President shall hold Office for a period of three (3) years and shall be eligible for re-appointment. Also Council Members other the ex-Officio members shall hold office for a period of three (3) years which is subject to re-appointment.

The office of a member of the Council shall become vacant if:

  1. He becomes bankrupt or makes arrangements with his creditors
  2. He is as a result of physical or psychological illness unable to discharge his functions as a member of Council
  3. He is convicted of an offence involving dishonesty, fraud or moral turpitude.

The Council is a body corporate with perpetual succession and a common seal and may sue and be sued in its corporate name.

Membership of the Council

Subject to the provision of the decree enacted for the establishment of SURCON as enshrined in the enabling Act, the Council consist of a President who shall be a surveyor to be appointed by the President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Force and the following other Members:

  1. Five persons to be appointed by President, Commander-in-Chief of Armed Force one of whom shall be the Surveyor–General of the Federation and the others from amongst other interest in the field of Surveying (Including the Armed Force) which in the opinion of the President, Commander-in-Chief of Armed Forces ought to be represented.
  2. The surveyor-General of each state in the Federation.
  3. Twelve Persons elected by the Nigeria Institution of Surveyor (NIS) in the manner for time being provided in its constitution: and
  4. Four person appointed by the President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces from Universities or the other Institution offering Courses leading to an approved qualification in Surveying, no two of whom shall come from the same Institution of higher learning.